The Newman Council

The Newman Council is our student-run planning board composed of committees that are responsible for the spiritual activities, social events and service opportunities at our center. These students provide leadership and facilitate programs that enrich the Catholic experience at Truman State University.

If you are interested in planning and directing programs at Newman, learn more about our committees and consider joining the Newman Council.

Executive Committee

The “Exec” team coordinates the Newman Council’s overall program operations. Executive positions include: President, Internal Vice President, External Vice President, Committee Liaison, Secretary, Fundraising Coordinator, Council Liaison, Alumni Liaison, and Executive Officer.

President: Jake Hearst

VP of Internal Affairs: Adam Moran

VP of External Affairs: Maura Shimmens

Secretary: Liz Buchholz

Publicity Chair: Justin Gassel

Alumni Liaison: Ben Wolf


Fellowship Committee

The Fellowship Committee hosts weekly meetings, retreats, and various social opportunities for Newman’s fellowship groups and FOCUS groups.

Men’s Ministry: Connor Havrilla, and David Smith

Women’s Ministry: Abby Sanders, Emma Famous, & Katie Alexander

Salt & Light Co-Leaders: Maguire Radosevic & Gloria Farmer

FOCUS Group Coordinators: Maura Shimmens(Liaison), Ben Schmidt (Men’s) and Emily Goodwin (Women’s)


Intramurals Committee

Newman Intramurals coordinates and promotes Newman’s participation in Intramural events, stimulating Newman spirit and sportsmanship as we battle other organizations.

Men’s Chair: A.J Clever

Women’s Chair: Christina Halfmann

Co-ed Chair: Jonathan Bradfield


Liturgy Committee

The Liturgy Committee is responsible for coordinating Masses, recruiting Mass volunteers (Greeters, Lectors, and Eucharistic Ministers), and decorating the altar.

Committee Chair: Rachel Smith

Committee Members: Tyler Acosta (Praise Band Leader), Christina Slipke (Choir Director),  Andrew Gentry,  Clare Wacker


Publicity Committee

The Publicity Committee publicizes Newman events. Newman’s publicity usually takes the form of a weekly bulletin, Mass announcements, this website, social media, and campus sidewalk chalking. Creative and innovative ideas are welcome!

Committee Chair: Justin Gassel

Committee Members: Emily Wren, Rob Garner, Ben Schmidt, & Christina Woelk

Service Committee

The Service Committee…

Committee Chairs: Sadie Rollings & Anna Graves

Committee Members: Emily Goodwin & Paschaline Uti


Social Committee

The Social Committee plans and runs social activities such as BBQs, dances, coffeehouses, and movie nights. The social committee coordinates Newman’s participation in Homecoming, Family Day, and Finals Week. This committee provides exciting opportunities for involvement with the campus and getting Newman’s face around the University.

Committee Chair: Lucy Miloscia

Committee Members: Emily Wren, Heidi Speth, & Christina Halfmann


Spiritual Committee

The Spiritual Committee provides a variety of opportunities for spiritual growth to members of the Newman community consisting of Bible studies, retreats, Eucharistic adoration and Reconciliation services.

Committee Chair: Emily Schaper

Committee Members: Kathleen Placke, & Heidi Speth